[CT Birds] Malicious Links on CT Digest

Kathy Van Der Aue kathyvda at gmail.com
Wed Nov 14 18:47:41 EST 2012

I got one similar to what you describe from Frank Mantlik.  do you think my
computer is now infected?  If so, what do I do to get rid of it?

On Wed, Nov 14, 2012 at 3:38 PM, <Kfinnan at aol.com> wrote:

> A real simple suggestion is to avoid opening any messages with brief,
> out-of-character subjects.  On CTBirds, "Hey" is a perfect example.
> If you have opened a message, avoid clicking on a link when there  is
> either no text or very brief text leading up to it--especially if the
>  text is
> out-of-character.  It's the link that will do  the damage.
> Unfortunately, it's easy for these people to pick-up e-mail addresses  so
> they appear to come from legitimate parties like Neil or Roy.  But they
> won't bother tailoring the message to any listserve or group like CTBirds.
> Instead, they rely on volume.  Those messages go to large numbers and broad
> varieties of recipients so it's easy to see whether they make sense on
> CTBirds.
> Best regards,
> Kevin
> Kevin Finnan
> Goshen
> _______________________________________________
> This list is provided by the Connecticut Ornithological Association (COA)
> for the discussion of birds and birding in Connecticut.
> For subscription information visit
> http://lists.ctbirding.org/mailman/listinfo/ctbirds_lists.ctbirding.org

Kathy Van Der Aue
Southport, Connecticut
Visit my Blog at http://naturaliststable.wordpress.com

More information about the CTBirds mailing list